A Year of Poems – Day 260

“I know what it’s like to be stranded”
A boat without a sail caught on still water
The moment at night between two breaths
The mind panics, flounders, drags the body down.
If only the breath would relegate,
but if it did I’d breathe in water.
If only there was a rope,
Wasn’t there a rope,
I planned for this.
Was the rope tied?
I want to ask
But the wind rips my breath
From my lungs.
I’m falling.
Then the voice comes again
Or maybe it only came once,
It just took a second to penetrate,
“I can help, I know what it’s like to be stranded.”

Leave a Reply

