A Year of Poems – Day 139

Blanket my hopes,
smother my dreams in wool
lest I wander in my sleep
and leave the marbled doors of earth ajar.

Wrap my ears against deep space
which sings its siren song.
Knit me to the pearl next door
whose song, though minor,
has all the weight of gold.

Tie my heart with twine
to heaven and earth
lest my love float
into the great void of sky
which swallows hope and time.

Freedom is a textile art
woven into the fabric of our souls
is the warm tension of safety.

Leave a Reply

