A Year of Poems – Day 73

If I escape the surly bonds of earth
to soar, to fly, to brush at heaven’s hair
to gaze in unreflecting quiet joy
into the starry vastness of her eyes
If I leaving all earth’s wooded problems –
the tangled web of thorns and knotted weeds,
the seas of water rolling overhead,
the stone walls which divide as they protect –
ascend to see the colors of the spheres,
to dance to the harmonics of the stars,
and live in perfect stillness as I dance
If I could take a rocket to the void
to get to truth by getting far away
then all my perfect truth would have no sway
and when I gained an audience with her eyes,
I would have no choice but to drop my gaze.

Leave a Reply

