A Year of Poems – Day 1

The cold marble curtain cuts cross her face.
She looks away, wrapped in stone, no embrace
in her eyes, which avert their gaze elsewhere,
past me, though I shift to catch her stare.
I think some harm or loss troubles her mind,
but as I move with eyes prepped to be kind,
the windows to her soul shutter out mine.
She still looks out, but I can find no line
in, to see the person hiding inside.

“Why should two, such as we are, try and hide?
True, we have just met, but we share so much.
We have loved. We have lost. We both long to touch
our lives to another so that we know
their heart and they know the shape of our nose.
But you hide, and soon I will walk away
from an immortal face designed to play
shamelessly reflecting a unique gaze
through unique eyes. But this world is a maze
and though we should walk together in pairs,
we meet lost souls and make our face a wall.”

Author’s Notes

For the next year I will be writing one poem every 24 hours and posting them here. The goal of this Year of Poems is simply put to write more poems. I’ve written poems for several years now (You can check out some of them here), img_1080and I plan on continuing to write for years to come. These poems are primarily for my practice, but you are more than welcome to follow along throughout the next 365 days, or simply check in every once and a while to see if I’m still at it. For the most part the poems will simply stand for themselves, in whatever state they were in when I finished that day. I hope to vary the length and structure, but for the most part I plan on figuring this out as I go along. Today’s poem was inspired by The Veiled Nun, a sculpture by Giuseppe Croff – currently kept in The National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC.

2 thoughts on “A Year of Poems – Day 1

  1. I wish you all the best, and I like your first effort. I remember that John at one point was going to write a poem for every book of the bible. Good intention, but it is following through that is the challenge. Interestingly, there have always been two schools of songwriting: one that you write when the muse bonks you on the head (see Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen, et. al.; two that you write every day and perfect your craft and some of them will reflect your hard work ( see Hoagy Carmichael and the Gershwins, etc). I have always fallen into the first camp, but there are some very gifted folks of both persuasions. I don’t think you have to pick…. I hope you are well. John has accepted an offer with a web marketing firm in Charlotte, about which he is very excited.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of my creative writing professors was of the opinion that the muse had to strike for a truly great poem, but you also had to work so that you were ready to conduct the inspiration when it did come. I’m not sure where I fall in the camp, but I know that if I’m not writing I won’t produce anything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

